Watching Character Develop – M. B. Weston’s Writing Diary: 10/01/15

Check out today’s blog post from Dark Oak Author, M. B. Weston:

M. B. Weston's Official Website

I love it when characters start developing right in front of me as I write them. I’ve been working on the Michael Lodestone urban-fantasy, pulp novella, and I’ve been stuck on a few plot points. I used to let getting stuck in plot issues mire my writing for days, until a few years ago when I just started “writing through them” to keep momentum going with the story. Now when I come to a part in unsure about, I use brackets to indicate what I still need to add in so I can keep going with the scene and at least develop dialogue between the characters and few action scenes. It will look something like this:

Jack and Jill went up the hill. [Not quite sure why they are going up the hill yet. Need to figure out their motivation later.]

This little trick helps me continue writing action and…

View original post 484 more words

Leave a Reply

